Homemade Peanut Butter Granola


DSC_0482

I like a bowl of cereal now and then topped with lots of fresh fruit, normally strawberries. I used to buy the boxes of it at the stores until one day I stopped and read the box and how much sugar was put into these cereals that where marketed as being so healthy. I felt pretty deceived when I had thought that I was eating something that was good for me when really these cereals are just as bad as a box of Fruit Loops. I should have just been eating Fruit Loops instead of pretending I was being healthy eating the granola cereals that I was buying at the store.

I really like peanut butter, you will see that I use  it in so much of what I bake as the time goes on with my blog. After feeling so deceived from the cereals that I thought was healthy for me I decided that I could make some that was going to be better for me.

Ingredients:

Honey – 1 cup

Peanut Butter – 1 cup

Canola Oil –  2 tbsp

Vanilla Extract – 2 tbsp

Water – 1/4 cup

Old Fashioned Oats – 7 cups

Dried Fruit, Nuts, Sun Flower Seeds ( Optional )

DSC_0489

Take all the wet ingredients and put them in a big microwavable mixing bowl and then place in the microwave for 30 seconds at a time taking out and stirring each time until all have mixed together well.  Once all of the wet ingredients have been mixed together  you can add the oats and if you want any of the extra things like nuts. seeds, or fruits add them as well now. Mix them all together till the oats are all coated with the wet ingredients.

Pour the oat mixture then on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and press so that it is like you are making a crust for a pie. Place it into the oven at 300 Deg and bake for about 20 mins. When you check on the granola if you see that the edges are starting to brown while the middle is not you will want to take a spoon and mix it back up so that the edge pieces are now in the middle and the middle pieces are on the sides now. Place back into the oven for maybe another 20 mins but keep checking on it because you don’t want it to burn.  Once it is all cooked you let it cool before placing in a air tight container for storage. 

537025_10200384767404753_833197719_n

Now you don’t have to feel so bad about eating that bowl of cereal in the morning. I learned a big lesson about this cereal also since the oats are not cooked like they normally are they do not really soak up much of the milk but if you drink a glass of water while you are eating it also the oats will soak it once it is in your belly and will keep you full for a very long time.  So be careful that you don’t eat a huge bowl of it and then drink a glass of water because you will feel so full, this really is a little goes a long way type of cereal.  

DSC_0480

The granola can also be sprinkled on top of your yogurt, or brought in a little container to work or just kept with you for a snack as well. I like to have it as a snack just by it self when I am out and about because it will keep you full until you are going to have a actual mean instead of stopping and grabbing a candy bar or something that is really unhealthy for you at the store. 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Peanut Butter Granola

  1. Pingback: Crunchy Chocolate Chip Granola Bars | The Greasy Spoon

  2. Pingback: Banana W/ Coconut and Seeds “Cereal” | The Greasy Spoon

Leave a Reply

