Chewy Oatmeal Cookies


I feel that Fathers day is the hardest day to shop for, what do you get the person who let you stay up late and watch star trek while eating ice cream? I had a really hard time thinking of this and I even google searched things to try to think of something but really my dad doesn’t need any more tools, he has every tool known to man I believe and he doesn’t play golf either. I think it is also a bit weird when you get any guy tools for a gift, it’s like saying “hey here is some things so you can go work some more and not enjoy a day off”.  

 

28094_1446048196403_4837639_n

This is not what I want my dad thinking he needs to be doing on his day off work.

My dad was pretty awesome just so ya’ll know, he would take me fishing and hunting all of the time at a pretty early age.

10134_1224785424972_2121835_n

Taught me how to ride motorcycles, jet skis, 4-wheelers, go-carts, I guess really anything that had a motor he taught me how to ride it. I did get hurt doing all of those things many times but he always made me get back on and do at least one lap around the field so that I wouldn’t be scared anymore, I am sure that if he didn’t do that I would have never wanted to ride again.

 

10134_1241707488013_2249115_n

 

Yes I was wearing a helmet and rubber boots while riding, it is Texas and it is really hot but we had to make sure our leg didn’t touch the hot motor and well mom would have a heart attack if we didn’t wear a helmet.

73392_1656549338800_3377648_n

 

Because when you don’t wear a helmet you end up needing to go get stitches like this!

10134_1224787505024_6508851_n

I remembered that my dad loves oatmeal cookies though and so I ended up thinking I should just make that for him and send it to him so thats just what I did.

 

Ingredients :

Butter – 1 Cup (or you can use shorting)

Sour Cream – 1 Cup

Brown Sugar – 1 Cup

Granulated Sugar – 1 Cup

Vanilla – 2 tbsp

Eggs – 2 

Baking Soda – 1 tsp

Nutmeg – to  your taste

Cinnamon – to your taste

Flour – 1  1/2 Cups

Old Fashioned Oatmeal – 3  1/2 cups  (do not use instant oatmeal)

 

Beat together in a large bowl the butter, sugars, vanilla, and eggs. Once they are all combined well and is light and fluffy then mix in the amount of cinnamon and nutmeg that you enjoy, then beat in the baking soda. Once that is all combined mix in the flour first till well combined and then add your oats. You can always add raisons, cherries, chocolate chips, or any nuts that you like at this point as well but I kept these plain.  Set the bowl of dough in the refrigerator for about 20 minutes and pre heat your oven to 350˚.

Spoon out the dough onto your cookie sheet and place into the oven and let bake for about 8- 10 minutes. Make sure that you take the cookies out before you think they are done because they will continue to cook as they cool on your wire rack. If you leave them in too long they become too crunchy for my taste. I mean I do like crunchy oatmeal cookies but I really love chewy cookies a lot more.

DSC_1131 

Leave a Reply

