Healthy Fresh Fruit Gummy Squares


It has been a while since I have posted anything on here. Once summer made it’s way with the beautiful warm weather I didn’t want to stay indoors and found myself trying to spend all my time not in my kitchen. Summer also makes it were I want to eat lots of fresh fruit and veggies, the crisp coolness of a pear hits the spot for me while running around in the heat. I was able to spend some of my time back home in Texas and made sure that I ate my share and maybe a few more peoples share of crawfish while I was there. This was the only photo I took of the crawfish but I promise you that I ate more than just what is seen in this photo. I believe I came back to NYC 10 pounds heavier.

tumblr_mp32zbEccZ1qaikkho1_500  

Of course I went and rode the jetskis with my brother and dad, I am just sad I wasn’t there when they got the gopro camera hooked up to the front of one of these and took them out to ride. I thought al my running had kept me in good shape but man after riding the skis again my legs were just done for!  

tumblr_mp2pg6SMjy1qaikkho1_500  

My aunt also had her birthday when I was down and this huge blow up water slide is what was apart of all the fun. I think that all the adults had more fun on this that the kids did!

tumblr_mp6pwjIBBU1qaikkho1_500

I also was able to spend some time near the creek just reading my book. That had to be one of the best times, sitting with my feet in the water and reading and not having anyone bothering me at all.

Well today was the first day that I decided to get back on the roll of making things and since someone really has been craving gummy bears I decided with all the fruit that I had I would be able to make a healthy version of gummy bears. I didn’t have a bear molding or a cookie cutter in that shape either so I just cut them into squares.

Ingredients:

Strawberries – 2 cups sliced

Orange Juice  – 3/4 cup fresh squeezed  

Lime Juice – 1/8 cup fresh squeezed

Lemon Juice – 1/8 cup fresh squeezed

Honey – 3 Tbsp (or can use 1 packet of stevia)

Gelatin  Non Flavored – 5 packets

Take your lemon, lime, and oranges and juice them. I had to just squeeze them by hand since I do not have any other way to do it. Pour all of the juices into a pan and add the sliced strawberries and bring it to a simmer and cook until the strawberries become soft.

DSC_1361

Take the strawberries and all of the juice and pour it into a blender with the amount of honey or stevia whichever you prefer to use and then blend well. I like it with either sweetener but some people do not like stevia  because they say it has a aftertaste, so don’t worry you can use honey and it will turn out just the same.

DSC_1367

Next take the 5 packets of gelatin and pour it into the blender and blend until it is all smooth, then you can pour it into the pan that you are going to use. If you have molds for ice cubes they will work great but I do not so I just used a sheet cake pan and poured it all into. Place into the refrigerator and let sit for a hour before taking out and either with a cookie cutter you can then cut into any shape you wish or like I did just into squares. 

DSC_1371

One thought on “Healthy Fresh Fruit Gummy Squares

  1. I understand why you weren’t posting. I gotta tell ya I missed your post though. Thanks! Paul

    >________________________________ > From: The Greasy Spoon >To: prdibbell@verizon.net >Sent: Sunday, August 25, 2013 10:09 PM >Subject: [New post] Healthy Fresh Fruit Gummy Squares > > > > WordPress.com >Kleio posted: “It has been a while since I have posted anything on here. Once summer made it’s way with the beautiful warm weather I didn’t want to stay indoors and found myself trying to spend all my time not in my kitchen. Summer also makes it were I want to eat lots ” >

Leave a Reply

