Quick Rise Hamburger Buns


Hamburgers and BBQ  are all things that are normally consumed in excess today and I really wasn’t thinking of making any of those things. I figured I would have my salad and not have a kitchen to really clean up but the rest of my family had a different idea on that. They all wanted hamburgers and some of my sweet and spicy coleslaw that they love so much. I sent someone to run to the store to grab some meat and mustard and I started on making some buns for the burgers that I was going to cook. I think that if you want a great hamburger you have to have fresh buns or all the work that you put into everything else just really goes to waste.  When they got back and saw I was making the buns they thought that it was going to take forever since my bread  that I make has a very long rise time that I use and they all became a little upset thinking that they will end up needing to wait for a long time to eat. I made knew that they wouldn’t want to wait and I had started on some quick rise buns for today that took in a total of maybe 50 minutes.

Ingredients:

Active Dry Yeast – 2 tbsp

Warm Water – 1 cup 

Sugar – 1/8

Canola Oil – 1/3

Egg – 1

Flour – 3 cups (1/2 cup more for kneading)

Garlic Powder

Onion Powder

Take the Yeast and dissolve it into the warm water and set aside for 5 minutes  then add the sugar, oil, egg, garlic and onion and mix well. You can always leave the garlic and onion powder out if you would like a plain bun or add just enough to taste it is really easy to be flexible on this and put what you enjoy in this to make it your own. Slowly add 3 cups of flour and mix with a spoon until a dough ball is forming and then turn out onto a floured surface adding only 1/2 more of flour if needed, do not add more then that or it will become too dense and will not be fluffy and light. Knead the dough for 5 minutes  and then pull and roll into 6 balls and place into a lightly greased pan, cover and set aside to rise for 20 – 30 minutes.

In a 425˚ pre heated oven place the uncovered bun in the oven to bake for 10 minutes or until tops are golden brown. Take the bun and place on a wire rack to cool  and then can be stored in a airtight container. I though cut the buns in half and place them cut side down onto a bacon grease coated hot cast iron skillet and toasted the inside before placing the hamburger into the buns. 

Who really needs to go buy hamburger buns when you are able to make some in under a hour and taste better then you can even imagine. 

DSC_1126

2 thoughts on “Quick Rise Hamburger Buns

    • These can be made with either type of flour. I used regular flour since these were not going to be eaten by me but by other people who do not have a gluten allergy

Leave a comment